Chapter 16. Part 5

ThrityChapter16StartChapter15Part5

Pleasantview, same day

“Your mom’s house is really nice, you know,” Gemma said, “Your dad’s place is pretty great too of course, but then I didn’t really expect either of them to live in squalor or something, I mean, your dad is a football star, and your mom is the freaking mayor, of course both their houses would be impressive. Hey, why is it that whenever you go home for a weekend or something, Lilith goes here and Angela, you always go to your dad’s? I guess it makes sense for Lilith to go here all the time since Dirk goes here as well, but it is a little strange don’t you think? It’s not like they each got custody of a twin like in the Parent Trap or something, because you’re obviously adults now, and by the way, Angela, we should rent that movie some night, don’t you think?”

Lilith tried her best to not roll her eyes. Gemma was cool, she thought, when something was happening that she could pay attention to, but anytime things calmed down even just a little her head seemed to fill up really quickly and thoughts just started to flow out of her like a fountain. She didn’t know how Angela could stand it, but she didn’t miss the small smile on her sister’s lips as she nodded to her girlfriend.

“I don’t like movies with twins that get along,” Angela said, “but if you really want to see it, sure.”

“I like the part where they tease each other,” Lilith said, “so basically the first twenty minutes. And to answer your question, I come here because I like it here. Angela goes to Dad because she doesn’t like it here. Which is why she stayed with Dad after the divorce, and I moved with mom and grandpa and grandma and was happy for the remaining years of high school, unlike her.”

“Yeah, and which is why Lilith got to spend years sucking up to grandma so she got the bigger inheritance.”

Lilith sighed. Of course Angela had to bring that up again.

The funeral for Coral at the end of November had been a sad affair, but Lilith had been surprised to find Angela either standing or sitting next to her all the time, the death of their grandmother apparently awakening some latent wish for sisterly closeness Lilith hadn’t thought either of them had it in them.

But then it turned out Coral had made a will, had updated it faithfully throughout the years, and in it, had left Lilith a sizeable sum of money, twice as much as her other grandchildren. Angela had been angry. Lilith, she could admit to herself, had said something mean about Angela not caring much about their grandmother anyway, and the resulting screaming match had been a sure thing.

“You’re not over that yet?”

“Why should I get over it? It was very unfair of grandma.”

“It was her money. She could do what she wanted with it. Besides, Donovan and Maddison got the same amount you did, so why are you complaining?”

“It. was. unfair.”

“I don’t agree with you at all. You are getting a damned Ph.D, Angela, which you know damned well dad is going to supplement as soon as you tell him you live on noodles, so our parents are collectively already spending more money on your education than they are on mine. So grandma knowing I want to get a culinary fellowship after grad and making sure I can afford it without having to ask mom and Darren sounds completely fair.”

“Are you applying for something for next year?” Gemma asked before Angela could say something in response. “Like, abroad?”

“Yeah, me and Dirk talked about it. We want to travel a bit, and a year abroad sounds like a good idea.”

“As if me and Gemma don’t want to travel,” Angela said.

“Well, we don’t,” Gemma pointed out, “we’ll be moving onto grad school. Maybe after that, but we can probably save up a bit, or do a post doc somewhere else. Rent won’t be that high in our new place, after all, not since your dad said he’d help out a bit.”

Lilith smiled victoriously. There it was again. Daniel helping his favourite daughter financially, and Angela too blind to see how dependent she really was on him. Angela caught her look and smiled back with a grin.

“Yes, and it’s going to be so romantic living together, like our own little love-nest. How about you and Dirk, Lilith? Still sticking to single beds in different rooms? How long has that been going on? Let’s see, you moved into the same house when you were… seventeen, right? So five years? Any reason why the two of you haven’t gotten a place to share yet? Not afraid of something, are you?”

Lilith swallowed hard. Angela and Gemma were not a better couple than her and Dirk; no one was; no one would ever be. But there was that little ball of insecurity that had popped up when Gemma and Angela had started looking at apartments or small houses on campus to share during their senior year, and beyond. Why weren’t she and Dirk doing that? Why hadn’t it ever even occurred to them to talk about it?

“They’ll be living together after grad,” Gemma said, rising. “I need to go to the bathroom. Try not to kill each other while I’m gone, Dirk would be so sad.”

She left the twins alone, and a welcome but uncomfortable silence settled between them.

It was Lilith who finally broke it, with a glance over at their father.

“What is even going on over there?”

“Dad is playing with Donovan.”

“Yeah, I can see that. But why?”

“Because he’s a boy who apparently likes playing with footballs. What other reason would dad need?”

Lilith wondered how their mother felt about her son enjoying playing with balls, especially footballs, given how she had disliked even the topic since her divorce from the man who was now getting sweaty in her garden teaching Donovan how to score a goal.

“It’s still strange.”

“Hey Ange?” Lilith asked after a moment or two had passed. “I’m going to ask you something personal now.”

“Do you have to?”

“Kinda.”

“Whatever then.”

“You’ve been Gemma a while now.”

“That’s not a question.”

“Well this is; how does it even work to have sex without a dick involved? I get dudes banging each other, but like-”

Angela let out a laugh full of disdain. “Seriously? This is coming from you, miss I’m-an-enlightened-feminist-and-your-heteronormativity-is-outdated? Are you seriously so wrapped up in straight sex that you don’t consider anything pre-penetration as part of the actual sex? What’s everything else? Just foreplay? Or is Dirk so selfish that he just goes right to penis in vagina?”

“That’s not-”

“In fact, I remember you saying in class once that most women don’t even get orgasms from P-I-V alone, not that orgasm is the only purpose of having sex – oh, those are your words again – so how does that work then, Lilith? Please, tell me the details of the sex you have with our step-brother, because I’m dying to know.”

Lilith kept her lips shut. Angela might have a point, but Lilith would rather die than admit her question was stupid or rude, and she absolutely wouldn’t ever apologize to her for it.

Instead she groaned at Gemma and Dirk coming around the corner of the house together, talking like good friends.

“Why is it that everyone we date ends up getting along?” she said.

“Obviously because you’re Dirk’s big lapse in an otherwise good judgement of character?”

“Says the girl who got banged by Dustin Broke.”

*

“You know,” Darren said while chopping vegetables for dinner, “when Daniel said he’d be bringing you today, it wasn’t really our master plan to get you to cook for us. Not that we mind having the chef of a four-star restaurant in our kitchen of course.”

“You’re the cook,” Dina smiled, “I’m just helping. And besides, it has been a long time since I got to cook a dinner for a lot of people but that I actually get to enjoy myself.”

“We have Lilith to help too, though,” Mary Sue said, “if you want a break. But it’s definitely nice to have you here for dinner too, Dina. You haven’t seen the house before, have you?”

“No, and it’s such a nice house. And you’re right across the street from Cassandra, once she and Ajay come back.”

“Yes, we’re hoping-.”

Mary Sue halted. Dina took a deep breath. “You were hoping Donovan or Miranda might have a play mate nearby.”

“Yes, we do.”

Dina sliced dumped the steak into a pan. It looked like an angry movement to Mary Sue, but Dina’s face betrayed nothing, and she quickly took it back out. “Damn, forgot something.”

“I suppose,” Darren said gently, “you dating Daniel now might mean we get to see more of you? Not that we usually have Daniel over for dinner, but it’s been a long time since the divorce, and it seemed like a good idea to make sure we get all the kids together at once too. To try to invite him over more often that is.”

It had certainly come as a surprise to them both, to see Dina in the society pages on Daniel arm, especially since Mary Sue had spoken to Dina only a couple of days before and she had said nothing about it then, but Mary Sue had to admit they made a good looking pair. Not that she completely understood what Dina saw in Daniel, or how they even got together in the first place.

“Things seem good between you two,” she noted, more to convince herself than anything else.

“They are, I suppose. He bought me a dog. I always wanted to get a dog. Nina reminds me to feed it, just in case, but I haven’t forgotten it once. Or to walk it. Or let it out. It sleeps on my bed sometimes.”

Something wistful had sneaked into Dina’s voice, and her slow smile was back. She turned to Mary Sue. “I suppose I should’ve spoken to you about it, beforehand, shouldn’t I?”

“It’s fine.”

“Is it really? We’ve been friends a long time now, Mary Sue. I know I should’ve talked to you. He is your ex-husband after all.”

“He is, but as I think I’m much better off now, I’d be more worried about you than anything else. You know what he can be like, Dina. I wouldn’t want you to be hurt.”

“I won’t be. We have a deal.”

A marriage is kind of like having a deal, Mary Sue thought to herself, but to Dina she just smiled. “Well then. I’m glad you both found each other. And I’m glad you’re here.”

“I’m glad you’re here too, Dina, but why you had to bring dad with you, I’ll never understand,” Lilith said as she came inside. “I missed you though.”

“And I miss having you and Dirk at my place,” Dina said, giving Lilith a warm hug. “But I suppose I should give up my dreams of getting you back after you graduate?”

“Well,” Lilith said, “I might ask you for a job one day…”

“But not right away?”

“Me and Dirk had been talking about me applying to fellowships and stuff. You know, to learn more.”

“Ah, I see. And some of these fellowships might be easier to get with a recommendation or two, I’d assume.”

“I don’t want you to just write one because I was a good waitress,” Lilith said firmly, and Mary Sue felt a surge of pride for her. “I’d cook you a meal and everything first. You could even surprise me with strange ingredients or whatever you want. I can do it, you’ll see! I can cook anything!”

“Oh, she can!” Darren agreed, with the same pride Mary Sue felt. “She’s brilliant, our girl.”

“I promise not to write a recommendation until after you’ve gotten a chance to amaze me, then,” Dina said, “but for now, why don’t you get this dish done? There’s a spice missing, but I’ll let you figure out it is yourself.”

Lilith positively squealed with joy and set to work at once.

Daniel came in just then, holding Donovan in his arms. “Hey, this little guy is getting cranky. He played one hell of a game though! Strong legs, fast feet, you’ve got yourself a future pro here, Mary.”

“I very much doubt that,” Mary Sue said, “but thank you for keeping him occupied for a while. He likes to play with that ball. Darren is going to build him a proper goal.”

“I guess a little nap might not be completely out of order,” Darren said, taking his son.

“I scored!” Donovan said, happily. “I’m the best at football.”

“Sure you are,” Darren smiled and went to put him down.

“Still naps, does he?” Daniel asked. “I don’t remember the girls napping at the age of five.”

“They didn’t,” Mary Sue said, “but Donovan sometimes do when Maddison does. Just a little while, she’ll wake him up in time for dinner, you can be sure of that. She’s got quite the lungs.”

“They’re nice kids.”

She stared at him. He was actually trying to be nice. It was a nice change of pace.

“I don’t think there’s much we can do in here, Daniel, why don’t you help me get the drinks outside to the table?”

“So, what do you think of the girl?” Daniel asked with a nod to Gemma.

“I think she’s pretty nice. Angela seems to be happy.”

“Yeah, I guess so.”

He sounded a bit sad though and Mary Sue frowned. “You don’t like her?”

“She doesn’t know anything about football,” Daniel said, “but I guess neither does Dirk, and I’ve accepted him, I suppose.”

“Then what is it?”

“Oh, it’s silly.”

“Daniel?”

“I suppose she kinda messes up my retirement plans.”

Mary Sue laughed. “Your retirement plans? What does she have to do with those?”

“Oh you know. I had a plan. Angela graduates college, or grad school, as it’s turning out to be, and then she gets married. If I was lucky, she was gonna marry one of my players, and then it doesn’t matter that planetary geologists hardly make any money at all. And she’d have kids, one or two, and they’d live in Pleasantview and go to school here. So I’d retire, and I’d offer myself to the school as a coach, which of course they’d happily accept, and then I’d just… train and coach my grandkids. To be superstars. Like I was. But now Angela has Gemma, and I’m not saying I don’t like the girl, but it does ruin it a bit. How would they have kids?”

“That’s… almost sweet. The plan, I mean. I didn’t know you were thinking about retirement, or that you’d be happy teaching kids how to play. But you know, they can still have kids, if they want them. Adoption, sperm donation.”

“Yeah, I guess. It might not work out between them in the end either.”

“That’s not fair to say-” she started but the ringing of the phone interrupted her and she went to answer it, leaving Daniel’s ideas for Angela to deal with some day in the future.

“Cassandra?” she answered. “Yes, Dina is here, but what is it? You sound terrible?”

She turned to the kitchen. Dina and Lilith had stopped cooking and was looking at her. Darren came back in to the room.

“What’s happened, Mary?” he asked, but Mary Sue looked at Dina.

“Something has happened.”

*

“Can I help you, ladies?”

“Olive.”

“Virgingya Feng. Mambo Loa. To what do I owe this pleasure?”

“You have heard the good news, I suppose?”

“What news?”

“So you haven’t heard?”

“Maybe I have. Maybe the news I have heard are not the same as those you have heard.”

“Mortimer Goth is dead.”

“Excellent.”

7 thoughts on “Chapter 16. Part 5

  1. cindysimblr

    aösdfkajwefoiafwjd where do I even begin to comment?

    First of all, with everything going on, I almost forgot about the twins. It’s nice to have an update on them, actually. It’s a pity they don’t get along better at this point, but well, I guess their grandma’s death and inheritance was just another point on a long list of being treated differently by relatives. I’m happy for Lilith, though. I’d rather not rely on Daniel (or Mary Sue, even though she’s a total badass in your story) either. Besides that, Gemma reminds me a bit of a friend of mine who has ADHS – I’m wondering if that was an idea in your story or if that’s just her personality.
    Daniel is being Daniel, again. I tried hard not to roll my eyes while reading. He tries, I guess. As much as a guy like Daniel can try. I still don’t quite get what Dina is getting out of this.
    And then there’s the news! Mortimer Goth has died. Wow! I’m curious how that will change the relationships in Pleasantview. I wonder how Dina will feel about it – and what newly widowed and still very attractive Bella Goth will do about it.
    Aaaaaaaaaaand I also love how you delivered the news. This raises more questions than it answers. Where do Virginya Feng and Mambo Loa suddenly come from? And why is Olive so happy about Mortimer Goth’s death? I hope you don’t let us wait too long for the next chapter.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. dunneias Post author

      Thank you for commenting!
      When it comes to any kind of neurodivergence I always like to leave it up to the reader unless it’s something I’ve personally experienced, so basically: up to you!
      Those last questions are not questions that will have a quick and easy answer unfortunately. I hope I won’t keep you waiting too long for next chapter either, but I can promise Olive isn’t in it, so don’t get your hopes up there.
      Thanks!

      Like

      Reply
  2. tamtam-go92

    O_O Amazing chapter, as always! I love Ange and Lil’s interaction in this, they try to be civil but there is still that dwelling rivalry between them… And I think you capture a time-apropriate mindset of same-sex-relationships. I’m so excited what Morty’s death will cause now. Thanks for the amazing read!

    Like

    Reply
    1. dunneias Post author

      Thank you! I am always trying to not make everyone unrealistically supportive and understanding and saying exactly the right thing. It hurt me to have Lilith be ignorant of course, but I think it makes sense. It is, as you’ve noted, only 1996. If Lilith was my age, or younger, her views would probably be different. It’s a little bit inspired by a scene in an episode of Sex and the City, when Samantha had a girlfriend, but it was probably over 20 years since I saw it, so it was more about the impression that scene gave me.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pleasant-lives

    Wow, I loved this last bit of the chapter. I guess I had forgotten, but seeing a story where Dina and Lilith are friendly with each other made me so happy. I have no idea how I’d make them interact in my Pleasantview, but they’re two of my favorite sims and seeing their respect and closeness to each other was a cute extra for me.
    I liked the dynamic between the twins, too. There always seems to be something that just won’t let them be close to one another, but I can definitely relate to those attempts at being cordial with family, even if it doesn’t work as planned.
    I was honestly expecting something much more macho and misogynistic from Daniel regarding his “retirement plan”, so I was surprised by how normal it was. Or maybe it was good (was it tho?) that the phone rang and interrupted their conversation.
    I can’t wait to know what happens next. I’m worried about how the news will affect Dina and her relative stability. Mortimer is such a central part of Pleasantview… as Cindy says, I’m curious how the neighborhood relationships might change.
    And I especially want to know what Olive is plotting… why was she so happy about it?

    Like

    Reply
    1. dunneias Post author

      Olive, the sweetheart, has many secrets and will not reveal them swiftly or willingly 😛 Let’s just say, this is part of a long game that will eventually, but not very quickly, have big importance for Sim City. I thought it was time to start dropping hints 😛
      And Daniel… it’s hard to write Daniel be good, because Daniel is an ass, but even Dan gets to have moments where he’s just a failed father, and knows that he is, and to me, that’s his most interesting character trait.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Reaper

    my bet is, death is gonna take mortimer’s body to take the sim city easily with olive now. or take his soul to become new reaper, because grim reaper is make retire, and be with oliva eternally, so grim is needs incarnation to keep his otherworld balance continue within mortimer, and rest his case from this universe.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.